03
Jun
09

SweetH2O followup

I looked around the web and came across a few race reports, some great pictures, and even a little video.   I take no credit for the pictures and I’m glad for the folks that took them.  I hope nobody minds if I use them here.  To see them in their original habitats, check out the race reports below and click on them here to enlarge them:

Christian, a fellow GUTS member, always writes great reports for his adventures.  I haven’t actually met him yet, but feel like I know him a bit from his blog.  

I spoke very briefly with David Ray (another GUTS member) after the race, but didn’t really introduce myself.  His reports are always great too, and he takes tons of awesome pictures.  I actually started carrying my small camera on my long training runs after seeing all the pics he took and posted on his blog.

I just came across Rick Spencer’s blog because he found mine and was cool enough to comment.  He is the guy that got stung by a bee in my original post.

So here are the pictures I came across

Here is a picture at the start.  You can actually see the back of my head.  Look at the “S” in start and work down until you the green shirt and white/gray hat.  I’m talking to Rich Schick, who at that moment was telling me how he planned to take it easy.  He went on to win the Men’s Masters award.  Never trust a runner.

 

Pretty big crowd for a trail ultra

Pretty big crowd for a trail ultra

I mentioned aid stations in my original post. Here is a picture of one of them.  Quite a feast.  I didn’t really say it before, but the volunteers were incredible.  Always ready to fill your bottle, check on your needs, and keep you motivated.  These people stayed out there for hours, in the heat, with 200+ runners coming through each aid station multiple times.   We can’t thank them enough.

 

PB&J never tasted so good

PB&J never tasted so good

The rest of my pictures document the two dominant features of the race in most minds, the powerlines and river crossing.  

First the river crossing.  this is taken from the side you start from:

 

Looks pretty easy from this vantage point

Looks pretty easy from this vantage point

A combination of deep water, short runner, and slippery shoes led this part of my crossing to look similar to this below.  Just holding on to the rope and pulling myself across the strongest part of the current.

 

Looks a little tougher from here

Looks a little tougher from here

The rest of the pictures I grabbed show the “powerlines” section.  Really two sections, one a narrow gasline easement and the other a wide open powerline easement.  I grabbed so many pictures, because no one picture does it justice.  There are certainly tougher trails out there, but this section is so different than the surrounding area, and you get to do it twice in this race, so it really stands out.

 

this part was "easy" because it was shaded

this part was "easy" because it was shaded

 

The runners give a sense of scale to the hills

The runners give a sense of scale to the hills

 

Speaking of scale, the black specs near the treeline are runners.  You may have to enlarge it to see them.

Speaking of scale, the black specs near the treeline are runners. You may have to enlarge it to see them.

 

Lest you think there was no reward, behold the view

Lest you think there was no reward, behold the view

 

A great self-portait of David Ray with the hills in the background

A great self-portrait of David Ray with the hills in the background

A GUTS member was out on the course volunteering and took a bunch of video. He posted it on YouTube. If you just want to see me, check around 4:03 or so in the video. You can see me slowly work around/through some mud and then slowly shuffle by the camera in my green shirt and white hat.

4 Responses to “SweetH2O followup”


  1. June 5, 2009 at 8:15 pm

    Great to see the pics are getting out there! We’ll have to introduce ourselves properly next time. When’s the next race?

  2. 2 Nate
    June 5, 2009 at 8:28 pm

    I will definitely introduce myself next time. I’m not quite sure when that will be. Our first child is scheduled to arrive in a week and a half, so no races for a bit. Maybe a few fall races, especially the GUTS ones.

    Thanks again for letting me use the pictures.

    Nate


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

